The Many Works of Anne McCaffrey

Home  Biography  Bibliography  Series Details  Miscellany  Links

Novels and Novellas: Alphabetical Listing

[Books: alphabetical order     publication order     series order]
[Short Stories: alphabetical order     publication order     related stories]

Some of Anne McCaffrey's books have been published under more than one title.  Main listings are found under the first published US title, however alternate titles are listed as separate entries for those not aware of the original US title.  The alternate title listings are followed by a parenthetical note to the original US title.  Main listings which have alternate US titles are indicated as (aka Title), while alternate UK titles are indicated as (UK: Title).

Please note that the the miscellany companion books to Anne McCaffrey's works are not included on this list.  Those interested in them should consult either of the other bibliographical listings (series and publication order).

The "type" letters in the first column can be deciphered as follows:
A for anthology
AT for alternate title
C for co-authored work
E for edited work
N for novel or novella
O for omnibus edition.

Type Pub Date Title Notes/Co-author/Titles in Omnibus
C Jul 1997 Acorna with Margaret Ball
C Jul 1999 Acorna’s People with Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
C Jul 1998 Acorna’s Quest with Margaret Ball
C Feb 2003 Acorna’s Rebels with Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
C Dec 2001 Acorna’s Search with Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
C Mar 2004 Acorna’s Triumph with Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
C Aug 2000 Acorna’s World with Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
E 1970 Alchemy & Academe  
N Sep 1991 All The Weyrs of Pern  
N 1996 Black Horses for the King  
O Nov 2003 Brain Ships Partnership, The Ship Who Searched
AT   Carradyne Touch, The (see The Lady)  
C Dec 2005 Changelings with Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
N Nov 1993 Chronicles of Pern: First Fall, The  
O Mar 2004 City and the Ship, The The City Who Fought, The Ship Avenged
C Apr 1993 City Who Fought, The with S.M. Stirling
N 1983 Coelura, The  
E Aug 1973 Cooking Out of this World  
C Mar 1992 Crisis on Doona with Jody Lynn Nye
N Nov 1992 Crystal Line  
N Aug 1982 Crystal Singer  
O Jan 1996 Crystal Singer Trilogy, The Crystal Singer, Killashandra, Crystal Line
N 1992 Damia  
N Jan 1993 Damia’s Children  
C Jul 1990 Death of Sleep, The with Jody Lynn Nye
N Apr 1969 Decision at Doona  
C Mar 2008 Deluge with Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
N Jun 1978 Dinosaur Planet  
N Nov 1984 Dinosaur Planet Survivors (UK: The Survivors)  
N Oct 1997 Diversity of Dragons, A by Anne McCaffrey with Richard Woods; part fiction, part non-fiction
N Sep 1993 Dolphin's Bell, The re-published within The Chronicles of Pern
N Oct 1994 Dolphins of Pern, The  
O Feb 2004 Doona Crisis on Doona, Treaty at Doona
N 1979 Dragondrums  
N Jul 1968 Dragonflight  
C Dec 2007 Dragonharper with Todd McCaffrey
N May 1971 Dragonquest  
O Oct 1978 Dragonriders of Pern, The Dragonflight, Dragonquest, The White Dragon
C Jul 2006 Dragon's Fire with Todd McCaffrey
C Dec 2003 Dragon's Kin with Todd McCaffrey
N Nov 1988 Dragonsdawn  
N Feb 1997 Dragonseye (UK: Red Star Rising)  
N Sep 1977 Dragonsinger  
N 1976 Dragonsong  
N Nov 1995 Exchange of Gifts, An  
C Aug 2005 First Warning: Acorna's Children with Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
N 1998 Freedom’s Challenge  
N 1997 Freedom’s Choice  
N 1995 Freedom’s Landing  
N Jun 2002 Freedom’s Ransom  
C Mar 1991 Generation Warriors with Elizabeth Moon
A Jun 1977 Get Off The Unicorn  
A Nov 2002 Gift of Dragons, A  
A May 1994 Girl Who Heard Dragons, The  
O Jul 1984 Harper Hall of Pern, The Dragonsong, Dragonsinger, Dragondrums
N Oct 1998 If Wishes Were Horses  
O Aug 1985 Ireta Adventure, The (aka The Mystery of Ireta) Dinosaur Planet, Dinosaur Planet Survivors
N Dec 1985 Killashandra  
N Dec 1975 Kilternan Legacy, The  
N Nov 1987 Lady, The (UK: The Carradyne Touch)  
N Feb 1994 Lyon’s Pride  
M Dec 2006 Maelstrom with Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
N May 1971 Mark of Merlin, The  
N Jan 1998 Masterharper of Pern, The  
N Oct 1983 Moreta, Dragonlady of Pern  
AT   Mystery of Ireta, The (see The Ireta Adventure)  
N Mar 1986 Nerilka’s Story  
O 1987 Nerilka's Story & The Coelura Nerilka's Story, The Coelura
N Feb 1999 Nimisha's Ship  
N Oct 1996 No One Noticed the Cat  
O Oct 2003 On Dragonwings Dragonsdawn, Dragonseye, Moreta
C Dec 1991 Partnership with Margaret Ball
N Nov 1990 Pegasus in Flight  
N Apr 2000 Pegasus In Space  
O Sep 1993 Planet Pirates, The  The Death of Sleep, Sassinak, Generation Warriors
C Jun 1994 Power Lines with Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
C Jul 1995 Power Play with Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
C Jul 1993 Powers That Be with Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
AT   Red Star Rising (see Dragonseye)  
N Nov 1989 Renegades of Pern, The  
N Aug 1991 Rescue Run re-published within The Chronicles of Pern
N Sep 1967 Restoree  
N Nov 1971 Ring of Fear  
N Nov 1990 Rowan, The  
C Mar 1990 Sassinak with Elizabeth Moon
C Aug 2006 Second Wave: Acorna's Children with Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
E 1996 Serve it Forth edited with John Gregory Betancourt
N 1969 Ship Who Sang, The  
O Dec 2003 Ship Who Saved the Worlds, The The Ship Who Won, The Ship Errant
C Aug 1992 Ship Who Searched, The with Mercedes Lackey
C Apr 1994 Ship Who Won, The with Jody Lynn Nye
N Apr 2001 Skies of Pern, The  
E Dec 1996 Space Opera edited with Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
N 1984 Stitch in Snow  
AT   Survivors, The (see Dinosaur Planet Survivors)  
C Jul 2007 Third Watch: Acorna's Children with Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
O 1990 Three Gothic Novels (aka Three Women) Kilternan Legacy, The Mark of Merlin, Ring of Fear
AT   Three Women (see Three Gothic Novels)  
N 1975 Time When, A expanded into The White Dragon
N Aug 1973 To Ride Pegasus  
N 1999 Tower and Hive, The  
C Feb 1994 Treaty at Doona (UK: Treaty Planet) with Jody Lynn Nye
AT   Treaty Planet (see Treaty at Doona)  
N Jun 1978 White Dragon, The  
O Jun 1991 Wings of Pegasus, The To Ride Pegasus, Pegasus in Flight
O 1981 Worlds of Anne McCaffrey, The Restoree, Decision at Doona, The Ship Who Sang
N Sep 1986 Year of Lucy, The  

Home    Biography    Bibliography    Series Details    Miscellany    Links
Site created by Cheryl B. Miller, copyright © 2004-2007.  All rights reserved.
All references to worlds and characters based on Anne McCaffrey’s fiction are copyright ©
Anne McCaffrey 1967-2007, all rights reserved, and used by permission of the author.

email cheryl @