The Many Works of Anne McCaffrey

Home  Biography  Bibliography  Series Details  Miscellany  Links

Novels and Novellas: Publication order within category

[Books: alphabetical order     publication order     series order]
[Short Stories: alphabetical order     publication order     related stories]

Please note that the titles listed are the original US titles.  Alternate US titles are indicated as (aka Title), while alternate UK titles are indicated as (UK: Title).  The miscellany section is by no means complete, but lists the most common companion books, literary critiques, and biographies of Anne McCaffrey.

Novels & Novellas     Co-Authored Works     Anthologies     Edited Anthologies     Omnibus Editions     Miscellany

Novels & Novellas

Sep 1967 Restoree  
Jul 1968 Dragonflight  
1969 Ship Who Sang, The  
Apr 1969 Decision at Doona  
May 1971 Dragonquest  
May 1971 Mark of Merlin, The  
Nov 1971 Ring of Fear  
Aug 1973 To Ride Pegasus  
1975 Time When, A expanded into The White Dragon
Dec 1975 Kilternan Legacy, The  
1976 Dragonsong  
Sep 1977 Dragonsinger  
Jun 1978 Dinosaur Planet  
Jun 1978 White Dragon, The  
1979 Dragondrums  
Aug 1982 Crystal Singer  
1983 Coelura, The  
Oct 1983 Moreta, Dragonlady of Pern  
1984 Stitch in Snow  
Nov 1984 Dinosaur Planet Survivors (UK: The Survivors)  
Dec 1985 Killashandra  
Mar 1986 Nerilka’s Story  
Sep 1986 Year of Lucy, The  
Nov 1987 Lady, The (UK: The Carradyne Touch)  
Nov 1988 Dragonsdawn  
Nov 1989 Renegades of Pern, The  
Nov 1990 Pegasus in Flight  
Nov 1990 Rowan, The  
Aug 1991 Rescue Run re-published within The Chronicles of Pern
Sep 1991 All The Weyrs of Pern  
1992 Damia  
Nov 1992 Crystal Line  
Jan 1993 Damia’s Children  
Sep 1993 Dolphin's Bell, The re-published within The Chronicles of Pern
Nov 1993 Chronicles of Pern: First Fall, The  
Feb 1994 Lyon’s Pride  
Oct 1994 Dolphins of Pern, The  
1995 Freedom’s Landing  
Nov 1995 Exchange of Gifts, An  
1996 Black Horses for the King  
Oct 1996 No One Noticed the Cat  
Feb 1997 Dragonseye (UK: Red Star Rising)  
1997 Freedom’s Choice  
Oct 1997 Diversity of Dragons, A with Richard Woods; part fiction, part non-fiction
Jan 1998 Masterharper of Pern, The  
1998 Freedom’s Challenge  
Oct 1998 If Wishes Were Horses  
Feb 1999 Nimisha's Ship  
1999 Tower and Hive, The  
Apr 2000 Pegasus In Space  
Apr 2001 Skies of Pern, The  
Jun 2002 Freedom’s Ransom  

Co-Authored Works

Mar 1990 Sassinak Co-author Elizabeth Moon
Jul 1990 Death of Sleep, The Co-author Jody Lynn Nye
Mar 1991 Generation Warriors Co-author Elizabeth Moon
Dec 1991 Partnership Co-author Margaret Ball
Mar 1992 Crisis on Doona Co-author Jody Lynn Nye
Aug 1992 Ship Who Searched, The Co-author Mercedes Lackey
Apr 1993 City Who Fought, The Co-author S.M. Stirling
Jul 1993 Powers That Be Co-author Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Feb 1994 Treaty at Doona (UK: Treaty Planet) Co-author Jody Lynn Nye
Apr 1994 Ship Who Won, The Co-author Jody Lynn Nye
Jun 1994 Power Lines Co-author Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Jul 1995 Power Play Co-author Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Jul 1997 Acorna Co-author Margaret Ball
Jul 1998 Acorna’s Quest Co-author Margaret Ball
Jul 1999 Acorna’s People Co-author Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Aug 2000 Acorna’s World Co-author Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Dec 2001 Acorna’s Search Co-author Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Feb 2003 Acorna’s Rebels Co-author Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Dec 2003 Dragon's Kin Co-author Todd McCaffrey
Mar 2004 Acorna’s Triumph Co-author Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Aug 2005 First Warning: Acorna's Children Co-author Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Dec 2005 Changelings Co-author Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Jul 2006 Dragon's Fire Co-author Todd McCaffrey
Aug 2006 Second Wave: Acorna's Children Co-author Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Dec 2006 Maelstrom Co-author Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Jul 2007 Third Watch: Acorna's Children Co-author Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Dec 2007 Dragon Harper Co-author Todd McCaffrey
Mar 2008 Deluge Co-author Elizabeth Ann Scarborough


Jun 1977 Get Off The Unicorn  
May 1994 Girl Who Heard Dragons, The  
Nov 2002 Gift of Dragons, A  

Edited Works

1970 Alchemy & Academe  
Aug 1973 Cooking Out of this World  
1996 Serve it Forth edited with John Gregory Betancourt
Dec 1996 Space Opera edited with Elizabeth Ann Scarborough

Omnibus Editions

Oct 1978 Dragonriders of Pern, The Dragonflight, Dragonquest, The White Dragon
1981 Worlds of Anne McCaffrey, The Restoree, Decision at Doona, The Ship Who Sang
Jul 1984 Harper Hall of Pern, The Dragonsong, Dragonsinger, Dragondrums
Aug 1985 Ireta Adventure, The (aka The Mystery of Ireta) Dinosaur Planet, Dinosaur Planet Survivors
1987 Nerilka's Story & The Coelura Nerilka's Story, The Coelura
1990 Three Gothic Novels (aka Three Women) Kilternan Legacy, The Mark of Merlin, Ring of Fear
Jun 1991 Wings of Pegasus, The To Ride Pegasus, Pegasus in Flight
Sep 1993 Planet Pirates, The  The Death of Sleep, Sassinak, Generation Warriors
Jan 1996 Crystal Singer Trilogy, The Crystal Singer, Killashandra, Crystal Line
Oct 2003 On Dragonwings Dragonsdawn, Dragonseye, Moreta
Nov 2003 Brain Ships Partnership, The Ship Who Searched
Dec 2003 Ship Who Saved the Worlds, The The Ship Who Won, The Ship Errant
Feb 2004 Doona Crisis on Doona, Treaty at Doona
Mar 2004 City and the Ship, The The City Who Fought, The Ship Avenged

Miscellany: Companion books, biographies, and literary critiques

Nov 1984 Atlas of Pern, The by Karen Wynn Fonstad
1986 Anne McCaffrey: Starmont Reader's Guide 30 by Mary Brizzi
Aug 1987 Dragonharper by Jody Lynn Nye
Jul 1988 Dragonfire by Jody Lynn Nye
1988 People of Pern by Robin Wood
Nov 1989 Dragonlover's Guide to Pern, The by Jody Lynn Nye with Anne McCaffrey
1996 Anne McCaffrey: A Critical Companion by Robin Roberts
Dec 1996 Ship Errant, The by Jody Lynn Nye
Feb 1997 Ship Avenged, The by S.M. Stirling
Mar 1997 Dragonlover's Guide to Pern, The, 2nd Edition by Jody Lynn Nye with Anne McCaffrey
Dec 1997 Unicorn Girl, Anne McCaffrey's The by Mickey Zucker Reichert, Jody Lynn Nye, and Roman A. Ranieri 
Nov 1999 Dragonholder: The Life and Dreams (So Far) of Anne McCaffrey by Todd McCaffrey
Jul 2001 Anne McCaffrey: Science Fiction Storyteller by Martha P. Trachtenberg

Home    Biography    Bibliography    Series Details    Miscellany    Links
Site created by Cheryl B. Miller, copyright 2004-2007.  All rights reserved.
All references to worlds and characters based on Anne McCaffrey’s fiction are copyright
Anne McCaffrey 1967-2007, all rights reserved, and used by permission of the author.

email cheryl @